I’m not alright, Jack

Bedroom tax whilst big banks prosper

Nuclear weapons and pocket money

This country works for an elite monied few

Is that the best you think we can do?

You must have seen them;

The unemployed, the working poor, the foodbank posters

And still voted for the status quo

Is that what you think we’re worth?

The sheer I’m alright Jack-ness of it

Is making me sick and tired and sad

And I’m finding it hard to look my children in the eye today

Because now I know their future

And it’s dismal, disenfranchised and disappointing

And it didn’t have to be.

We’re about to find out what

Westminster really thinks of us

As if we didn’t already know

So I hope you feel your voice was heard

It will be decades before it’s truly heard once more

Leave a Reply

